Motion sensor triggers light even though conditions are not met

Hi experts

I have been using my Philips Hue setup for 5+ years now without any problems.

Recently it was required to sign in with your Hue account in the Hue app to continue using the system. Not sure if it related but ever since signing in I have had problems with my motion sensor triggering the lights to turn on even though the conditions for sensitivity during daylight has not been met.

I have been in contact with the Philips Hue customer support but their advices have all been useless. They asked me to buy a new motion sensor, reset the sensor, delete the bulps connected to the sensor, etc. but none of it have helped. I have even tried removing all devices, resetted the Hue bridge to factory default and deleted the bridge from my Hue account - only to find the exact same behavior after setting everything up again.

I have noticed that if I change the settings of the motion sensor it will work for a day - next day it will turn on the lights again regardless of the light conditions.

Any ideas on what is causing this other than a software error? I have asked customer support to get in touch with an engineer or more technical staff but that is apparently not possible.

1 Like

I’m experiencing the same issue. My setup functioned seamlessly for several years. However, following a recent update and the new requirement to sign in to my Hue account, all my motion sensors now activate upon detecting motion, even when the lighting conditions should prevent this. I’ve observed, similar to your experience, that the sensors seem to operate correctly for a day after I modify and save a setting, but then the problem recurs the next day. Unfortunately, Hue support is terrible in resolving this issue.

So you never got it solved either?